International Ice Hockey Federation

U.S. invite 30 players

U.S. invite 30 players

Pre-tournament camp to be held in Boston

Published 02.12.2014 12:15 GMT-5 | Author USA Hockey
U.S. invite 30 players
Forward Hudson Fasching (left, against Russia’s Anton Slepyshev) is among the returnees on the U.S. National Junior Team. Photo: Francois Laplante / HHOF-IIHF Images
USA Hockey unveiled the 30 players selected to the preliminary roster for the 2015 U.S. National Junior Team. The final U.S. roster will be named by Dec. 24.

Team USA will compete in the 2015 IIHF World Junior Championship in Toronto and Montreal, Canada, starting on December 26th.

"We're excited about the group of players that we're bringing to our camp in Boston," said Jim Johannson, general manager of the 2015 U.S. National Junior Team and assistant executive director of hockey operations for USA Hockey. "The depth of our talent pool continues to make our job more difficult in getting to a camp roster and ultimately the final roster, and that's really a credit to the great job done at the grassroots level by coaches all across the country."

Seven camp invitees were members of the 2014 U.S. National Junior Team, including forwards Jack Eichel, Adam Erne and Hudson Fasching; defencemen Will Butcher, Ian McCoshen and Steve Santini; and goaltender Thatcher Demko.

Additionally, nine invitees were members of the U.S. Men's National Under-18 Team that won gold at the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship. The group includes forwards Eichel, Dylan Larkin, Auston Matthews, Sonny Milano and Alex Tuch; defencemen Ryan Collins, Jack Dougherty and Noah Hanifin; and goaltender Alex Nedeljkovic.

The chosen players will attend training camp from Dec. 16-19 in Boston at Walter Brown Arena on the Boston University campus. The camp will culminate with a pre-tournament game against the BU Terriers on Dec. 19 at 7 p.m. ET.

Following time in Boston, the U.S. will move to Kingston, Ontario, where it will continue preparations for the 2015 IIHF World Junior Championship. The U.S. will be based at the Rogers K-Rock Centre from Dec. 21-24 and in addition to practices, will play pre-tournament games against Germany (Dec. 21) and Sweden (Dec. 23).

Continue reading

Team USA preliminary roster

Brandon Halverson, Soo Greyhounds (OHL)
Thatcher Demko, Boston College (HEA)
Alex Nedeljkovic, Plymouth Whalers (OHL)

Noah Hanifin, Boston College (HEA)
Ian McCoshen, Boston College (HEA)
Will Butcher, University of Denver (NCHC)
Michael Downing, University of Michigan (Big Ten)
Ryan Collins, University of Minnesota (Big Ten)
Steve Santini, Boston College (HEA)
Zach Werenski, University of Michigan (Big Ten)
Anthony DeAngelo, Sarnia Sting (OHL)
Jack Dougherty, University of Wisconsin (Big Ten)
Brandon Carlo, Tri-City Americans (WHL)

J.T. Compher, University of Michigan (Big Ten)
Nick Schmaltz, University of North Dakota (NCHC)
Jack Eichel, Boston University (HEA)
Anthony Louis, Miami University (NCHC)
Miles Wood, Noble and Greenough School
Michael McCarron, London Knights (OHL)
Sonny Milano, Plymouth Whalers (OHL)
Tyler Motte, University of Michigan (Big Ten)
John Hayden, Yale University (ECAC)
Alex Tuch, Boston College (HEA)
Chase De Leo, Portland Winterhawks (WHL)
Cole Cassels, Oshawa Generals (OHL)
Jeremy Bracco, U.S. National Under-18 Team (USHL)
Dylan Larkin, University of Michigan (Big Ten)
Hudson Fasching, University of Minnesota (Big Ten)
Adam Erne, Quebec Remparts (QMJHL)
Auston Matthews, U.S. National Under-18 Team (USHL)


Back to Overview