Cernak suspended
Cernak suspended
Slovak defenceman to miss game vs. USA


Four seconds left in the game on 27th December against Finland, Cernak hit Mikko Rantanen with his elbow in the head and neck area after the Finnish forward had released the puck. Rantanen fell onto the ice apparently injured, required assistance and wasn’t able to return for the post-game ceremony.
The IIHF World Junior Championship Disciplinary Panel determined that Cernak had ample time to make his decision as to how he would deliver the check, that his initial point of contact was with his elbow to the head and neck area resulting in an injury and that although there was no intent or deliberate action to cause injury, the action was careless, endangered his opponent and was in direct violation of IIHF Rule 124 (Checking to the Head and Neck Area).
Therefore Cernak was assessed a one-game suspension being Slovakia’s next game against the United States.
Back to Overview